"Hamlet" for the last time

Philipp Preuss’ production of “Hamlet”, which has been invited to the 60th Theatertreffen of the Berliner Festspiele, can be experienced for the last time in Dessau on May 12.

Philipp Preuss’ exciting, much-discussed production of William Shakespeare’s “Hamlet” is one of the ten most remarkable productions from German-speaking countries selected for the 60th Theatertreffen.

Before the unique “Hamlet” production can be seen in Berlin, a final performance of the borderline experience between dream and reality will take place on May 12 in the Großes Haus.

The Theatertreffen of the Berliner Festspiele is considered the most important showcase of contemporary theater. The last participation of a stage of Saxony-Anhalt is almost two decades ago. The complete program of the 2023 Theatertreffen, which will take place in Berlin from May 12 to 29, 2023, will be published on April 14, while advance ticket sales are scheduled to start on April 28 at 2 p.m.

General Director Johannes Weigand is certain about Preuss’ “Hamlet” production: “Such a great performance could and can only be created in this form here on site. It is the result of a joint effort by all of Dessau’s branches and trades, as they characterize our house. I am curious to see how it will feel in Berlin – on “neutral” ground, as it were.”

Theater director Alexander Kohlmann is particularly pleased that “outstanding art is also seen and appreciated away from the major metropolises.” The appreciation also shows that it is worthwhile as a house “to take artistic risks together.”

Date in the Großes Haus
May 12, 2023, 7:30 p.m. (last performance).

Tickets for the performance are now available at all advance booking offices of the Anhaltisches Theater, on the Internet at www.anhaltisches-theater.de and at the box office.

Production: Philipp Preuss
Stage: Ramallah Sara Aubrecht
Costumes: Eva Karobath
Video: Konny Keller
Music: Kornelius Heidebrecht
Dramaturgy: Alexander Kohlmann
With: Cara-Maria Nagler, Sebastian Graf, Niklas Herzberg, Stephan Korves, Boris Malré, Felix Axel Preißler, Roman Weltzien