Bauhaus Dessau

Dessau, the Bauhaus town

When architectural aficiandos talk about classical modernism, Dessau is always included in the conversation. From 1926 to 1932, the town housed one of the most famous architecture and art schools in the world: the Bauhaus.

Its reputation was no accident either: Walter Gropius and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe succeeded in bringing artists like Paul Klee, Wassily Kandinsky, Lyonel Feininger, Oskar Schlemmer, László Moholy-Nagy, Marcel Breuer and Johannes Itten to Dessau.

Today, the Bauhaus building is regarded as being one of the icons of modernism – and it’s only a few yards away from the Master Houses settlement (Meisterhaus-Siedlung). The settlement of Törten testifies to early attempts at industrial construction, and the view of the River Elbe from the terrace of the Kornhaus restaurant is magnificent.

Gropius’ employment office building, Fieger’s Residence and the Cooperative Building also bear testament to the visionary ideas of the Bauhaus-style architects.


Tourist Information Dessau
Ratsgasse 11, 06844 Dessau-Roßlau

Opening hours:
January - March
Mon - Fri 10.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m.
Sat 10.00 a.m. - 1.30 p.m.
April - December:
Mon-Fri 10.00 a.m. - 6.00 p.m.
Sat 10.00 a.m.- 4.00 p.m.

+49 340 204-1442​​​​​​​
+49 340 2203003

Tourist Information Roßlau
Hauptstraße 11, 06862 Dessau-Roßlau

Opening hours
Mon / Fri10.00 a. m. - 12.00 a. m.
and1.00 p. m. - 2.00 p. m.
Tue / Thu10.00 a. m. - 12.00 a. m.
and1.00 p. m. - 5.00 p. m.

+49 34901 82467
+49 34901 53926