World heritage

One town – three world heritages

Would you like to visit a cradle of classical modernism? Explore the river landscape of the Elbe? Or take a stroll through classic parks? All of this is possible in Dessau-Roßlau, a town that has three UNESCO World Heritage sites to offer you.


UNESCO World Heritage Sites
Bauhaus and Master Houses

The Dessau Bauhaus was the centre of modernism from 1925 to 1932. Architects like Walter Gropius and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe created a new architecture and artists such as Wassily Kandinsky and László Moholy-Nagy shaped the art of the 20th century.


UNESCO World Heritage Sites
The Garden Realm of Dessau-Wörlitz (Gartenreich Dessau-Wörlitz)

Castles and parks, gardens and lakes incorporated into a cultural landscape – the Garden Realm of Dessau-Wörlitz offers a unique symbiosis of nature and culture on 142 square kilometres. It was awarded the accolade of a world heritage site by the UNESCO in the year 2000.


UNESCO Biosphere reservation

The flora and fauna of the UNESCO biosphere reserve Middle Elbe (Biosphärenreservat Mittelelbe), one of 600 in more than 100 countries, and one of the last natural river vistas in Europe, is extremely impressive.


Tourist Information Dessau
Ratsgasse 11, 06844 Dessau-Roßlau

Opening hours:
January - March
Mon - Fri 10.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m.
Sat 10.00 a.m. - 1.30 p.m.
April - December:
Mon-Fri 10.00 a.m. - 6.00 p.m.
Sat 10.00 a.m.- 4.00 p.m.

+49 340 204-1442​​​​​​​
+49 340 2203003

Tourist Information Roßlau
Hauptstraße 11, 06862 Dessau-Roßlau

Opening hours
Mon / Fri10.00 a. m. - 12.00 a. m.
and1.00 p. m. - 2.00 p. m.
Tue / Thu10.00 a. m. - 12.00 a. m.
and1.00 p. m. - 5.00 p. m.

+49 34901 82467
+49 34901 53926